S-a-t-u-r-d-a-y (Back 2 Good)

My favorite spot in New York!

Today was Saturday, March 3rd 2012. Saturdays are the best days. You are one day removed from work and you don’t have to worry about work, the next day… unless you have to come in.

My usual routine is to wake-up early. Yes, I know. “Why the hell do you wake up early on saturday?” It’s just my routine, since I was a kid. I am so used to getting up first thing saturday morning to help my dad do chores around the building, where he is the superintendent. Saturday mornings, the tenants would dump tons of trash and bottles/glasses in the recycle area like crazy. If it’s not done in the morning, it will lead to chaos later in the day.

I use the mornings to catch-up on my DVR/Hulu Plus/Netflix. I wake up on 4am for the next 5-6 hours, I catch up on things I haven’t been able to see during the week. Because of my job and my love of sports, I don’t really see a lot of TV during the week, so saturday and sunday are my best days. The one show that has become “Must See” for me is “Grimm”. I love “Grimm”. It’s like Angel/Buffy but in a Police Procedural format of a TV Show using Grimm’s Fairy Tales as a format in today’s contemporary setting.

While watching my shows. I am multitasking on my laptop. Yesterday, I noticed a friend at work in between work on Sporcle, which is a online quiz site. I couldn’t help but notice how her and my fellow colleagues were drawn to it. So I gave it a shot and I was freaking hooked all morning.

After I am all caught up, I take a shower. I decided I am going to stay in today and not to go outside today other than doing some errands (drycleaning and minor grocery shopping)

At first, things are ok today. I am watching College Basketball with it on mute while catching up on my podcasts but this lingering thought kept coming back.

Yesterday, at the end of the day. Something bad happened (can’t explain what or who) and I made a horrible mistake which I really feel awful about involving someone I cared about.

I felt so bad about it, I slept early that friday night than I usually do because I really couldn’t focus at all other than reading or playing with my iPad, at home hoping tomorrow is a new day. But it just carried over today, wondering if things are OK between me and the person. I would understand if that person is still mad at me. I hate myself for what happened.

I had to go outside and try to get it out of my head.

I decided to go to Chinatown and get some food. I went to my favorite chinese food place in NYC, Wo Hop. It is the “Waffle House” of Chinese Food in NYC. The dumplings are to die for.

I took the R Train up to Whitehall stop in Downtown Manhattan. Which is a few miles from Chinatown. I wanted to take a walk as I caught up on my remaining podcasts and clear my head. I walked it to Wo Hop.

One negative about Wo Hop. The service can suck, at times depending on your waiter. I had this old grizzled guy who was rude (he spoke perfect english, so it wasn’t a lost in translation) and didn’t even give me a plate of crispy noodles and duck sauce when I got there as I waited for my food (which he gave me the wrong order twice). I was hoping the fortune cookie I got gave me the translation for “asshole” cause that guy was.

I ate my food and gave the guy a shitty tip. I will always tip my waiter but I won’t give an asshole waiter a good tip on principle, he’s lucky to get 50 cents from me. I am actually a good tipper even if it’s just average service as long as my food there and if you make a mistake and apologize/fix it, we’re cool.

I originally wanted to see a movie in the Upper West Side at my favorite movie theater at Lincoln Square after my meal but I had a change of heart.

The weather though initially damp and foggy earlier became a nice day outside. I decided to take a walk over the Manhattan Bridge, back to Brooklyn and go to the movie theater there as I walk along downtown Brooklyn.

As I finished the last of my podcast listening, I cross over the bridge and I walk down  Brooklyn Bridge Park along the East River. I got to sit down by Jane’s Carousel on the park.

Jane’s Carousel in Brooklyn Bridge Park is a beautiful sight, you can see the bridges, the carousel in a nice glass enclosure and the East River.

As I sat there, I decided to walk to my favorite spot in Brooklyn as I have mentioned in previous blogs especially that dream I had. It’s the park benches along the Brooklyn Heights Promenade by Montague and Pierrepoint Streets.

I sat there and reflected for about 20-30 minutes. I am thinking about how I can make things right with my friend and the anatomy of the mistake I made. I want things to get “Back 2 Good” with us, I feel like things haven’t been the same lately.

After I sit for awhile, I make my way to the movie theater to see “Project X”. “Project X” is part of the “Found Footage” craze in movies where movies are being filmed like it’s something “really happening” similar to “Blair Witch” or “Paranormal Activity” via video camera. Though while most of those movies are horror film, this one is actually a teen sex comedy in that aesthetic.

My verdict. It’s not “Superbad” or “American Pie”, but it’s hilarious! It’s nothing special but it doesn’t have to be.

I exit the theater and make my way to Starbucks to have my usual (Grande Soy Caramel Macchiato) and I walk along the Carroll Gardens neighborhood as I finish my coffee up until the Carroll Gardens train stop to take the subway home as I listen to music on my iPhone.

I make my way home, took a shower and got in my pajamas.

In closing, I feel a little better today but I know I have to fix things when Monday comes. I hope I can make things right between us. I don’t want to lose this person. I want things as I mentioned earlier, “Back 2 Good”.