Retro-Goob

He sold women's shoes

Remember when music was fun and easily watchable on a Cable Network without 23.9 hours solely dedicated on Reality Shows with “Un-real” people? When Al Bundy was the coolest loser on TV? When Saturday Morning Cartoons didn’t try to bash your skulls with “education” then watch skulls bashed via WWF Wrestling and American Gladiators as you ate some sugar cereal like Cocoa Pebbles or Cap N’ Crunch? When there was fun, check your brain at the concession stand movies at the local multiplex like “Don’t Tell Mom the Babysitter is Dead” and “Waynes World”? When Gangsta Rap… Was actually Gangsta! Weren’t those the days?

I am a proud, unabashed child of the 80’s and 90’s.

I was Rickrolling for realzzz as a 6 year old on my living room to the cassette tape of Rick Astley’s “When You Need Somebody” album though no footage exist before you guys start searching YouTube.

I remember rushing home after school to see YO MTV Raps at 4pm to see Ed Lover and the other fat dude named Doctor Dre.

“Married with Children” was “Event TV” long, long before “Breaking Bad” is for me seeing Al Bundy sell Women’s shoes and his son, Bud making masterbation jokes long before I ever got what they meant. I can imagine any adult my age now watching the runs know understanding why Bud had a tube sock, a Bigguns magazine and some lube made the people in the audience wanna laugh.

Seeing “Die Hard”, “Predator”, “Terminator 2”, etc. without even wanting to know what there Rotten Tomato score was on HBO.

Ah man we were all spoiled those days. I am never hesitant to relive all the stuff I love as a child in my present adult days and probably my latter adult days. My iTunes has mostly 80’s and 90’s music I play often. My Netflix Instant queue currently has “The Wonder Years”, “Big Trouble in Little China”, etc. I YouTube a lot of classic music videos, etc.

Don’t get me wrong. I don’t hate current music, movies, cartoons,etc. at all. I just don’t really have the same emotional resonance as I have for them than I have from the things I loved in the past.

Rhianna’s “Take a Bow” doesn’t hold the same weight for me as The Cranberries “Linger”.

I think that’s why people have embraced the iTunes/YouTube/Netflix culture we are experiencing now. Now it’s easier for people to relive the past than it was 15-20 years ago, all we have to do is “Google it” and you’ll likely find it.

Usually people associate “Reliving the Past” as a negative thing whether it is remembering bad memories or as a sign of immaturity.

I don’t think it’s solely a negative thing to do at all especially if it’s things you enjoy and love. That’s different.

I mean is it a bad thing to see Kelly Kapowski on some random TV show today and wanna tweet your friends that she is still smoking hot or when you hear the local multiplex is gonna re-air “Back to the Future” and you wanna see it?

Retro in spite of those douchebag hipsters trying to torpedo it one  ironic “Fraggle Rock” shirt and a can of Pabst Blue Ribbon a tow is what’s now and it’s possibly here to stay.

Not ashamed to wear a Pac-Man shirt while listening to Boyz II Men and watching “The Goonies” on TBS.

Are you?

-V. for Vinnie

 

Leave a Reply

