What Am I Thankful for?

Snoopy and Woodstock!

Happy Thanksgiving! I hope everyone had a Happy Thanksgiving with the people you love and care about and that the food is good!

I had a really good Thanksgiving.

I spent it with my family at my Aunt’s house in the Rego Park neighborhood of Queens with my parents, grandma, siblings, aunt’s and uncles, cousins and my Aunt’s crazy beagle, Hudson who loves to go crazy when people are in the house. He went so crazy when he saw me he was throwing his paws up in the air like he was Mike Tyson and nailed me in the crotch with his paws… Yes, it did hurt.

As always whenever my family throws a party, there are tons of food, loud music, my mother and my aunts talking loud drowning out the loud music and me , my dad and Uncles complaining why are they talking so loud.

We did Thanksgiving dinner, Banquet style on a table where anyone can grab a plate, utensils (of course, this aint Medieval Times!) and as expected, the food! which included the following:

  • Salad: Greens, Carrots, Mushrooms, Tomatos, Broccoli, and Corn
  • Macaroni Salad
  • Potato Salad
  • Shrimp Cocktail
  • Yams with Marshmallows
  • Arroz Con Gandules
  • Rice with Seafood
  • White Rice
  • Pasteles
  • Pernil (Roasted Pork)
  • Turkey (duh)
  • Apple Pie
  • Bakery Cookies
  • Strawberry Shortcake

I wasn’t kidding when I said a lot of food! Also, naturally we all couldn’t congregate at a table cause of three reasons:

1) Too many people to fit in one table!

2) My dad, brother and I wanted to watch football downstairs

3) Even if we had a large enough table, everyone pretty much does what makes them comfortable, as it should be:

My mom likes to eat in the kitchen with my aunt Cookie.

My grandma talks to my Aunt’s mother in law and my Aunt Candy on the dinner tables.

My Uncles prefer the couch with the coffee tables to talk about car parts.

My sister and cousin Devin goes to his room with my other cousins to play Video games or see stuff on youtube.

My Dad, brother and I like to eat and watch the Football game downstairs.

Doesn’t mean were not a family cause we don’t eat together. In fact, it means the opposite.

When the game ended, the food was wrapped up in leftover trays (made sure I had mine secured before my dad grabbed it), coffee was done and it was getting late. We all went home to fall asleep and type up late night blogposts about “What they are most thankful for?

What I am most thankful for is my family. They are all different but we accept and embrace each other for those differences. We are there when we need each other and we always keep things in perspective. Sometimes we fight but at the end of the day, we are blood through thick and thin.

Things I am also thankful for:

  • Great Friends
  • Parade Balloons (especially Snoopy, Underdog, etc.)
  • Amazing Boss
  • Good Food
  • Football
  • Twizzlers
  • Fox’s Galloping Gobbler Football Trophy
  • Leon Lett’s infamous mistake during a Thanksgiving game between the Cowboys and Dolphins in 1993
  • Black Friday Sales
  • Warm Blankets
  • Etc.

I am also thankful for all the people in my life. You make a new day always a promising one 🙂

-V. for Vinnie

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

