Be Like That

NYC Skyline...how many a night I stared at you!

As mentioned in previous blogs, I relate a lot of my life to the music I hear especially certain songs I feel reach me in a certain way in terms of lyrics and meaning. Music is essentially my lifeblood like many people who load up a playlist on their MP3 players.

One of my favorite songs of all-time I relate to alot and has a profound meaning to me  is a song called “Be Like That” by 3 Doors Down.

I first heard this song around 7-8 years ago on the radio when I was in college writing a paper for my history class.  As soon as I heard the opening lyrics “He’s spent his whole life being too young to the live the life that is his dream”, I was hooked on to the song immediately as if it was speaking to how I’ve always felt about myself.

I’ve always felt while I am a responsible adult, there are times I still feel emotionally like I am a teenager still trapped in that wall of awkwardness, nervous and feeling too scared (of myself mostly).

That insecure kid who could never be smarter than anyone, could never be the best player on the field, never get the girl in the end (or a girl) and would never be the Big Man on Campus no matter what he did.

That good-hearted, well-meaning person with the right intentions who would wander the streets of downtown Brooklyn on weekends alone with a lot on his mind trying to make sense of it all.

He would always end up on a bench at the Brooklyn Heights Promenade around 9pm usually (i would go after I caught a movie on Court Street). As he would stare on the beautiful New York City skyline.

He would dream how everything would all come together for him finally. He would be a success in life. Meet that special, beautiful girl who rather being repulsed by his flaws she would embrace them because she saw the real person he is and what he overcame.

Deep down, he never wanted everything. He just wanted enough and he would never hurt others to get that because he is a good person. Especially the things he really wanted badly enough. Sometimes he would be so deep in thought, he doesn’t realized 2 hours have passed when it felt like 5 minutes to him.

He always felt he would live that dream someday. That’s why he never gave up despite everything, no matter how many times people ignored him/passed him up. How many times he thought he met “the girl” only for her to pass him up for someone else or  just never really shared the feelings he had.

Those first lyrics bring back those memories today and reminds me that dream is still not fufilled though I still haven’t  given up because in honesty, that’s what makes me, “me”. I live for the fight though I will admit I felt like I have taken way too many punches and haven’t delivered enough.

There are two guys I met recently in the current stage of my life and gotten to know personally who I greatly admire because they are great people and I am proud to call them “friends”.

One older, one younger yet both seem to just have “It”.

One is a go-getter who just hasn’t missed a beat, has a wonderful girlfriend who’s on her way too, he’s the future and I know it.

The other is just so earnest, smart and happy-go-lucky that women are just attracted too with a just a look at his smile or hearing his soft voice. He’s close to someone I am very close with.

I would do anything to have atleast 1% of  what each has. They combined are pretty much the person I always wanted to be.

“Be Like That” pretty much somes up those feelings I have. it’s a song about those dreamers like me who are good people who just haven’t gotten what they had dreamed for and wish they could be like the others who have that “dream”.

I won’t give up though I really do hope that break I’ve been seeking/waiting for comes sooner than later. I still believe dreams can come true, because why even dream in the first place if you didn’t believe in them?

-V. For Vinnie

He spent his whole life being too young
To live the life that’s in his dream
And then he lies awake and he wonders
Why can’t that be me?

‘Cause in his life he is filled
With all these good intentions
He’s left a lot of things
He’d rather not mention right now

Just before he says goodnight
He looks up with a little smile at me
And he says

“If I could be like that
Well I would give anything
Just to live one day
In those shoes”

If I could be like that
What would I do?
What would I do?

Now in dreams we run

She spends her days up in the north park
Watching the people as they pass
And all she wants is just a little piece of this dreams
Is that too much to ask?

With a safe home and a warm bed
On a quiet little street
All she wants is just that something to hold on to
That?s all she needs

If I could be like that
Well I would give anything
Just to live one day in
In those shoes

If I could be like that
What would I do?
What would I do?

I?m falling into this in dreams
We run away

If I could be like that
Well I would give anything
Just to live one day
In those shoes

If I could be like that
What would I do?
What would I do?

If I could be like that
I would give anything
Just to live one day
In those shoes

If I could be like that
What would I do?
What would I do?

If I could be like that
I would give anything
Just to live one day
In those shoes

If I could be like that?
What would I do?
Lord what would I do?

Falling in
I feel I am falling in
To this again

Leave a Reply

