Wishkid/WishAdult

I Want a Magic Glove!

I loved Saturday Morning Cartoons when I was growing up. I loved them! I remember excited to wake up every Saturday morning early (it’s funny how that changes when you’re an adult who had one Blue Moon too many after a looooong day at work and you’re struggling to eat your bacon, egg and cheese bagel).

Oh the memories, “Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles”, “A Pup named Scooby Doo”, “ProStars” (That one had Michael Jordan, Wayne Gretzky, and Bo Jackson as themselves as secret agents”, “Hammertime” (yes, MC Hammer was that big before he bought one baggypants too many), etc…

One of the cartoons, I’ll never forget was “Wishkid”. “Wishkid” was part of Macaulay Culkin’s heyday after that 3-4 year biggest kid star on the planet run he had post “Home Alone”.

“Wishkid” was a cartoon in which a young kid’s (voiced by Culkin) baseball glove has the ability to allow to make any wish he wanted because a star landed on it from the sky.

As someone as a kid who was inseparable from his Carlos Baerga 2nd Basemen Glove and my love of “Home Alone” and “Home Alone 2: Lost in NY”, the cartoon immediately resonated with me.

A kid with a magic baseball glove that grants wishes! Sign me up! I want to find that fucking magic glove (I was a foul-mouthed kid), break in my magic glove and wish the Yankees won the World Series (The cartoon was in 1991 when the Yankees were a 4th place team), I got to hang out with Macaulay Culkin and Junior from “Problem Child” , had Bill and Ted’s time machine, Hoverboards, Kelly Kapowski….

If I was a had that magical baseball glove as an adult, I would make three wishes:

1) I wish I am Rich: Now I do agree, “Money will never buy you happiness”, it just can’t. But it will make it easier, especially for those you love. If I ever did make my first million or got to run my own successful agency, my parents are getting a house finally. and the rest of my family will be taken care of. I would buy a giant loft apartment similar to the movie “Big” in which it will have video games, b-ball court, screening room, etc. I would have the greatest chill pad ever for me and my dear friends to hang out.  I would also travel the world and encounter new things. Most importantly, Wealth will not change me. I saw first-hand how wealth can corrupt or change a person for the worst. I would never let that happen to me.

2) Meet the love of my life: Notice I didn’t say anyone specifically like a Celebrity or a current object of my affection (though wouldn’t mind Natalie Portman, Kat Dennings or Ms. X). They might not be my true love. I really do believe there is “one person for anyone”. That’s what keeps my hopes up. I will ultimately meet that woman I want to be with for the rest of my life and I never would let her go or feel unloved. It could be someone I know or maybe it’s someone I haven’t met… Who knows. I just wish she was easier to find. I am currently reading Rob Lowe’s memoir and Rob has nailed some of the hottest ladies of his time: Natajassa Kinski, Melissa Gilbert, etc. He is now happily married to a make-up artist who is beautiful herself though nowhere near the hotties he’s been with which makes him happy because “she was the one for him”

3) Be comfortable in my own skin: I wish I was a more comfortable with myself.  I need to realize: I am a smart person, good person, caring person, capable person and most importantly, a normal person. While I always feel there is room for growth for me which I always seek. I need to be happy being, Vinnie Romero, first and foremost. I don’t need to change for others in order to be liked. I am a person who has family and friends who care about me.  To me, that’s part of my big struggle with confidence  If I can figure out that first piece of the puzzle, I will solve the rest of it, very fast.

One more wish before I go to sleep for the night… I wish a friend is ok. I miss her very much and I still feel horrible I couldn’t help her as much as I could. I think about her everyday at work and has a 6-pack of Diet Coke for her when she comes back.

-V. for Vinnie

Leave a Reply

