Learning to Walk

Thank You, Foo Fighters!!!

My favorite band without hesitation is the Foo Fighters, especially even more so than now. About a month ago, on the night before my birthday I saw a documentary of the band’s history, they did to support the new album “Wasting Light” called “Back and Forth”.  I admired how honest they were about themselves, the battles within the group and how they resolved it. It’s kinda refreshing given what we know about other rock bands and how much they hate each other. I couldn’t watch the Metallica band documentary and not think James Hetfield and Lars were complete assholes, and how staged that session with the “Psychologist” was.

My favorite song on the new album is called “Walk” and I think it might be my favorite song of theres after “Long Road to Ruin”, which also ended up on the end credits of “Thor” (by the way, AWESOME MOVIE!).  If you listened to the lyrics, It’s clearly about the band coming back home from a long tour, being back to their loved ones and essentially having to start over and be normal again with them and how much it means to be with them. They are “Learning how to walk again”.  It’s a very heartfelt song especially when Dave breaks into the loud bridge portion of the song, you can just feel the raw emotion of his voice.

I easily understood why the song was used in “Thor”, in it’s own way it definitely resonated with the character of “Thor”. Thor to those not familar with the Marvel Comics, is the Norse God of Thunder who is a Superhero who is a giant of a man with a powerful hammer called “The Mjolnir”. Thor is a heroic warrior prince, but he was an arrogant, selfish hero who was more worried about his Warrior pride than the people he needed to look after in his planet of Asgard. A hero who didn’t understand the true power he had and took it for granted. When his father had enough of his selfishness, he banished him to Earth and stripped him of his powers to live amongst the humans to teach him the value of selflessness.

Director Kenneth Branagh, who’s mostly known for his interpretations of Shakespeare and being Professor Lockhart in “Harry Potter and The Chamber of Secrets” completely turned the idea of the “Superhero story” around it’s Superhead! Most Superhero stories whether it is Superman, The Dark Knight or even more twisted movies like “Kick-Ass” and “Watchmen” are always about “What it means to be a Hero” or “When a man/woman become a Hero”.

“Thor” is about a “Hero becoming a Man”, a humbled god learning how to be an ordinary person in order to understand his higher purpose. Essentially Thor has to “Learn How to Walk” in order to fight evil and himself.

As you can tell by me talking about the song, it also resonated with me deeply. I feel I have to learn everyday in my life since I was born. When I was younger, I had to learn how to overcome “Learning Disabiities” and Aspergers in order to be comfortable with myself.  I am learning how to be more confident in myself, everyday. I am learning for me, everyday is going to be an Epic Battle for me, whether it is finding my voice or proving to my doubters at work I am capable of doing amazing things if given the chance. I am learning that Nothing is for Free, you have to work hard to get it. I have to learn how to walk.

Thank You, Foo Fighters!  For those who want to read the lyrics, see below and if you want to hear the song 😉 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QNT-e8AwmqU&feature=related

-V. for Vinnie

Foo Fighters “Walk”

A million miles away.

Your signal in the distance.
To whom it may concern.
I think i lost my way.
Getting good at starting over.
Everytime that i return.

Learning to walk again.
I believe I’ve waited long enough.
Where do I begin?
Learning to talk again.
Can’t you see I’ve waited long enough?
Where do I begin?

Do you remember the days.
We built these paper mountains.
Then sat and watched them burn.
I think I found my place.
Can’t you feel it growing stronger.
Little conquerors.

Learning to walk again.
I believe i’ve waited long enough.
Where do I begin?
Learning to talk again.
I believe I’ve waited long enough.
Where do I begin?

Now!
For the very first time.
Don’t you pay no mind.
Set me free, again.
To keep alive, a moment at a time.
That’s still insde, a whisper to a riot.
The sacrifice, the knowing to survive.
The first decline, another state of mind.
I’m on my knees, i’m praying for a sign.
Forever, whenever, i never wanna die.
I never wanna die.
I never wanna die.
I’m on my knees, i never wanna die.
I’m dancing on my grave.
I’m running through the fire.
Forever, whenever.
I never wanna die.
I never wanna leave.
I’ll never say goodbye.
Forever, Whenever.
Forever, Whenever.

Learning to walk again.
I believe I’ve waited long enough.
Where do I begin?
Learning to talk again.
Can’t you see I’ve waited long enough?
Where do I begin?

Learning to walk again.
I believe i’ve waited long enough.

Learning to talk again.
Can’t you see I’ve waited long enough?

Leave a Reply

