Mature Rejuvenile

My Alter Ego: Goob

I am 28 years old though in my heart, emotionally I am still 14 . I would never argue if someone ever said that to me, because it’s true. But don’t mistake that for immaturity, because that isn’t true, not one single bit nor am I trying to relive my childhood because there was a lack of it or I just couldn’t grow up.

I guess as I got older I just never lost that sense of childhood innocence. I still dress up in Pajamas. I have a photographic memory of the cartoons I watched when I was younger and still watched them. I seek out re-runs and clips of “Kids Incorporated”. Most of the music i listen to my iPod are pop, hip-hop, rock and rap songs when I was much younger in the 80’s, 90’s and early 00’s. I still have a deep love for The Muppets and vigorously can’t wait to see the new muppet movie by Jason Segel. Can quote Goonies, Monster Squad, Road House, Die Hard, and Point Break without little effort. I go apeshit for every Pixar film that comes out… I recently can’t get the show “Small Wonder” out of my mind cause a co-worker posted a picture of herself younger and she scarily looked like Vici.

While I still love that stuff, I am a very articulate and mature adult. Are there moments I don’t make an immature mistake? Of course, not. Every adult has done that atleast once in a blue moon.

As much as I do think it’s a great, unique quality of me, there are times when I feel like it’s a hindrance . I think it’s gives off the impression people always have to have the need to protect me always though I don’t need to be. I can get a tad overemotional when something awfully bad happens to the point I can’t help it. It can make me shy at times. People can take advantage of my kindness…

My alter ego is Goob. Goob was a character from a Disney animated film called “Meet the Robinsons”, he was pretty much like me when i was younger. Young, motormouth, had a trapper keeper, loves Baseball to the point he’s always wearing his jersey and loves coffee (I blame my Aunt Millie who gave me my first cup of coffee when I was 12). It kinda scared me how similar he was to me when I saw the movie with my best friend Liz, 4 years ago.

Is it wrong to have a little “kid” in ya especially in this cynical world of fear, skepticism and stress? I don’t think so. I think we can all use a moment of childhood innocence now and then. Enjoy going to see “Harry Potter”, go to an arcade, and rent seasons of “The Muppet Show” on Netflix. Have fun, you can still be a kid for awhile it’s never too late!

-V. for Vinnie

One thought on “Mature Rejuvenile

Leave a Reply

